Thread: Using Frames-- make button be a link to open in frame

Real Name
    JoAnn Ristau

Default Using Frames-- make button be a link to open in frame

Hi,
    I'm a web applications newbie and am stuck.

I'm working on an internal application for one of our departments. I'm trying to make buttons on my page open the link in the mainpage frame on the page I'm working on. I don't want to use HTML links, but buttons. The screenshot will give you more of an idea.

How do I specify the target frame using a dialog button? Can I?

I'm trying to make the 'add new' button open the data entry page in the mainpage frame.

I also want the print button to open the PDF file in the mainpage frame.

Once I get the 'buttons' to work, I'll start on the links for detail records to show up in mainpage.

Any assistance would be GREATLY appreciated!! Thanks.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Land of the Free, Because of the Brave
    Support our US Military

Real Name
    JoAnn Ristau

Default Re: Using Frames-- make button be a link to open in frame

Still over here beating my head on the wall. About to give up on web projects.
    Support our US Military

Real Name
    JoAnn Ristau

If there is anyone out there that can help I would REALLY appreciate it. I've tried everything I can think of, and cannot get it to work.

I guess I will be spending the weekend rewriting the application in PHP using MySQL back end.

:(
    Support our US Military

"Certified" Alphaholic NoeticCC's Avatar
    Real Name
    Andrea Gill

Buttons usually trigger events on the server (or rather they submit the form etc.), links are traditionally what is used to open something in another page or frame etc, and for those you can specify which frame/page to open in.

Either that or you read up on HTML coding and JavaScript and add the button as a Custom or freeform element.

Real Name
    JoAnn Ristau