Results 1 to 17 of 17

Thread: Error code 30 Printer not activated

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    K Aponkye
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    279

    Default Error code 30 Printer not activated

    I am getting this message: Error code 30 Printer not activated when I try to print to Adobe pdf which is set up as a printer on the Printers and Faxes area.

    I also tried to print thru the Preview of Alpha 5 v7 and got the same message.

    Thanks

    K

  2. #2
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Tom Cone Jr
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    22,876

    Default Re: Error code 30 Printer not activated

    You can't print "to" any of the Alpha Five printer drivers. You preview the file, then choose File "Save As" to create the desired file on disk.

  3. #3
    Member
    Real Name
    K Aponkye
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    279

    Default Re: Error code 30 Printer not activated

    I did the file save as and it gives me the same error code.

    Thanks

  4. #4
    "Certified" Alphaholic
    Real Name
    Tom Cone Jr
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    22,876

    Default Re: Error code 30 Printer not activated

    Maybe this message thread will help.
    http://msgboard.alphasoftware.com/al...ad.php?t=67505

    Suggest you search for related threads using the error message as search criterion.

  5. #5
    Member
    Real Name
    K Aponkye
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    279

    Default Re: Error code 30 Printer not activated

    Tom,

    I saw this search you pointed me to and did what it suggests but the error came back thats why I posted my question.

    Anyway, this is what I did to go around it, --anytime I use the pdf icon on Print preview it reverts to the Alpha Five printer and gets stuck until I come out entirely of the database before it reverts to the default printer--.

    I also saw that the Alpha Five printer is using LPT1 as its port, I change the port of Alpha Five printer to the same port as the Adobe pdf printer, I am now able to print to the Adobe pdf directly from the Print Preview, which should have happen from the begining.

    As always thanks for your help.
    Last edited by kdankwah; 09-25-2007 at 12:02 PM.

  6. #6
    Member
    Real Name
    Kay Bedeau
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    On 100 Acres of the Black Hills of South Dakota
    Posts
    123

    Default Re: Error code 30 Printer not activated

    I have had this problem in the paswt, and now it has reared it's ugly head again. I can print my report. I cannot, however, save as... or archive the report without getting the above error message.

    Why does it need a printer at all to simply archive my report?

    Karen

  7. #7
    "Certified" Alphaholic Stan Mathews's Avatar
    Real Name
    Stan Mathews
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Bowling Green, KY
    Posts
    22,538

    Default Re: Error code 30 Printer not activated

    Quote Originally Posted by KarenABedeau View Post
    Why does it need a printer at all to simply archive my report?
    The printer driver is used to construct the image that would be printed. There must be communication between a program and a printer driver concerning how fonts are handled, paper sizes, etc.

  8. #8
    Member
    Real Name
    Kay Bedeau
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    On 100 Acres of the Black Hills of South Dakota
    Posts
    123

    Default Re: Error code 30 Printer not activated

    Thank you for your reply, Stan. I went to my control panel and set the ports on both the PDF printer and the Alpha 5 Printer to L1P1. Now I can archive the reports. And, I can still print them on my HP All In One. So, it looks like (for now at least) my problem is solved!
    Karen

  9. #9
    Member
    Real Name
    Kay Bedeau
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    On 100 Acres of the Black Hills of South Dakota
    Posts
    123

    Default Re: Error code 30 Printer not activated

    Stan,
    Well, I THOUGHT my problem was solved. Later yesterday I generated a report using the same table, same report, but a different selection of records. I was able to print the report. But, when I tried to archive it, the dreaded "code 30" reappeared. I checked and both the PDF printer and Alpha Five Printer ports were still set to LPT1. I rebooted the computer and then was able to archive the report.

    As much of my use of Alpha Five involves generating monthly and yearly reports (and I am currently working backwards from 1993, so generate many), I find this extremely frustrating. Is there a patch for this problem? I read all of the related posts, and don't find any long term solution reported.

    Karen

  10. #10
    Member
    Real Name
    Kay Bedeau
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    On 100 Acres of the Black Hills of South Dakota
    Posts
    123

    Default Re: Error code 30 Printer not activated

    Help!
    Once again I have tried to archive a report (same database and report as my earlier posts, but different sort criteria) and have received the Code 30 error message. Is there no solution for this problem? Was a patch every created to fix it? Is it unique to v7? I am wasting hours trying different options: re-boot, re-entering the sort criteria (both via an Operation and re-ding the sort criteria when the Archive option asks for it)...nothing will work today.

    The ports in my Alpha Five Printer and PDF Printer are both set to LPT1.

    Karen

  11. #11
    "Certified" Alphaholic Stan Mathews's Avatar
    Real Name
    Stan Mathews
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Bowling Green, KY
    Posts
    22,538

    Default Re: Error code 30 Printer not activated

    What is the report setting for printer?
    Attached Images Attached Images

  12. #12
    Member
    Real Name
    Kay Bedeau
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    On 100 Acres of the Black Hills of South Dakota
    Posts
    123

    Default Re: Error code 30 Printer not activated

    How do I get to the Report Properties Window to check this?

    To add to my frustration, I just went back and tried to save my report again (same query) and it worked! It seems to be a random thing.
    Karen

  13. #13
    "Certified" Alphaholic Stan Mathews's Avatar
    Real Name
    Stan Mathews
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Bowling Green, KY
    Posts
    22,538

    Default Re: Error code 30 Printer not activated

    Open the report in design mode, right click on the top band of the report just under the ruler where you see Report at the left, choose Properties, Printer tab of dialog.

  14. #14
    Member
    Real Name
    Kay Bedeau
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    On 100 Acres of the Black Hills of South Dakota
    Posts
    123

    Default Re: Error code 30 Printer not activated

    It's set to "use default printer."

  15. #15
    "Certified" Alphaholic Stan Mathews's Avatar
    Real Name
    Stan Mathews
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Bowling Green, KY
    Posts
    22,538

    Default Re: Error code 30 Printer not activated

    Fine but what is the default printer?

    Notice the "grayed out" area below the radio buttons where mine says "Text driver on Rtf:".

  16. #16
    Member
    Real Name
    Kay Bedeau
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    On 100 Acres of the Black Hills of South Dakota
    Posts
    123

    Default Re: Error code 30 Printer not activated

    My grayed out area said Quicken PDF printer, so I changed it to Alpha Five Printer. Is this correct, or should it be set to PDF printer? I also have the choice of setting it to my actual physical printer (HP All In One).

  17. #17
    "Certified" Alphaholic Stan Mathews's Avatar
    Real Name
    Stan Mathews
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Bowling Green, KY
    Posts
    22,538

    Default Re: Error code 30 Printer not activated

    Quote Originally Posted by KarenABedeau View Post
    My grayed out area said Quicken PDF printer, so I changed it to Alpha Five Printer. Is this correct, or should it be set to PDF printer? I also have the choice of setting it to my actual physical printer (HP All In One).
    I would set it to the physical printer. That should allow Alpha to use the Alpha Five Printer for archiving to pdf.

Similar Threads

  1. Alpha 5 Printer not activated, error code -30
    By admin@dcitelecom.com in forum Alpha Five Version 7
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-21-2008, 05:01 PM
  2. Printer not activated, error code -41
    By ColinJD in forum Application Server Version 8
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-01-2007, 04:43 AM
  3. Printer not Activated, error code -30
    By johngtatp in forum Alpha Five Version 8
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-17-2007, 05:33 PM
  4. Printer not activated, error code -30
    By Chris.Tanti in forum Alpha Five Version 7
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 12-17-2006, 01:46 PM
  5. Printer not activated error
    By Chris.Tanti in forum Alpha Five Version 7
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-19-2006, 01:29 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

The Reviews Are In...

It just is revolutionary and reminds me of VB and how it changed the world.
quote Robert Scoble, Scobleizer

...Version 10 is a turning point on how developers will be writing applications for the web
quote Alan Ashendorf, Lets Talk Computers

Alpha Five version 10... this version is really a break-through for web developers.
quote The Wall Street Journal, Digital Network

Our Professional Services Division

Training and Mentoring - Alpha Software's Professional Services division is here to help. We offer mentoring and training services, for those who need guidance or advice building their own applications.

Development Services - Need someone to build your application? We'll get the job done right. We have an in-house team of Alpha Five developers and a network of carefully selected artists, designers and IT professionals ready to handle projects of any size. Read more .

submit a project request

Alpha Five Awards & Press
awards
Products Store Support Services About Cart Site Map Resources Home
© Copyright 2000-2011 Alpha Software, Inc. 70 Blanchard Road Burlington, MA 01803 781.229.4500
more