Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Import from DacEasy

  1. #1
    Member
    Real Name
    Daniel Weiss
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    Monsey, NY
    Posts
    503

    Default Import from DacEasy

    Is there a way to import the db files from DacEasy?
    Thanks
    Dan

  2. #2
    Jake Vuckovic
    Guest

    Default RE: Import from DacEasy

    Hi Daniel,
    I would be interested in importing from DacEasy. I have an app that imports from variety of accounting packages, and it's very easy once you know the format in which the package exports. Usually they all export to CSV format, which Alpha imports with ease.

    If accounting package exports the data that you need, in my case all I need is chart of accounts, then you should have no problem.

    If you would be kind enough to send me an exported chart of accounts from DacEasy, I would be greatful, since I don't have the program.

    Jake

  3. #3
    Member
    Real Name
    Daniel Weiss
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    Monsey, NY
    Posts
    503

    Default RE: Import from DacEasy

    Thanks Jake
    I’m nor sure if you misunderstood me, my problem is that DacEasy has no Exporting option. I tried importing to Alpha Five as well many other programs that import almost any format type, but did not succeed. The data files in DacEasy use the “.db” extensions, Ill send you via E-mail two files of one of my clients that I need to export or import to alpha five, “Deacust.db” holds the Customer Data, and “Deaprod.db” is the Product Data.
    Any help would greatly be appreciated
    Thanks
    Dan

  4. #4
    Jake Vuckovic
    Guest

    Default RE: Import from DacEasy

    I got your files Dan, but unfortunately I can't do anything with them. Extension(*.db) suggests that it may be a Paradox file, but it's not.

    It is amazing that DacEasy does not export. What version are you using?

  5. #5
    Member
    Real Name
    Daniel Weiss
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    Monsey, NY
    Posts
    503

    Default RE: Import from DacEasy

    Version 9, which is the latest
    and DacEasy is not helpful at all,
    My client will probably have rewrite it manually.

  6. #6
    Jake Vuckovic
    Guest

    Default RE: Import from DacEasy

    Dan, I still can't believe that it does not export. Maybe it's not an option from the main menu.
    I know, for example, that Simply Accounting for Windows has this option in Print preview. Whenever you view a report, you can choose to export that report to a specified format.

    Maybe DacEasy uses similar approach.
    Jake

  7. #7
    Member
    Real Name
    Daniel Weiss
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    Monsey, NY
    Posts
    503

    Default RE: Import from DacEasy

    Jake Thanks again,

    On their Main menu, they only have an Import option, so I Called them last week the one I spoke was not helpful at all, Ill try again tomorrow.

    Keep in mind DacEasy only cam out a few months ago with a windows version

    Thanks so much

  8. #8
    Noble Bell
    Guest

    Default RE: Import from DacEasy

    Hi,

    I have been a user of DEA for several years. The .db extensions are DacEasy's own naming convention. The actual data files are btrieve files. They are not in any database format (eg. access, dbase, etc.) They use their own convention.

    There use to be an export feature in the old versions of DEA that would allow you to export the COA transactions. What version are you using?

  9. #9
    Member
    Real Name
    Daniel Weiss
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    Monsey, NY
    Posts
    503

    Default RE: Import from DacEasy

    Thanks

    They are using Version #9 in Windows, but they still the older version’s around, Ill try looking in to it this Thursday when I plan to go to the client
    Thanks again
    Dan

Similar Threads

  1. Import XML?
    By Al_MacT in forum Alpha Five Version 6
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-29-2005, 11:01 PM
  2. Help With Import
    By Gary Phillips in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 06-30-2004, 08:58 AM
  3. import changes?
    By martinwcole in forum Alpha Five Version 5
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-04-2003, 03:10 AM
  4. Import
    By dcorcoran in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-02-2002, 08:58 AM
  5. import
    By 7ZNJABB in forum Alpha Five Version 4
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-25-2001, 11:23 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •